Multiskin Nonsense

The best and quickest support by a group of top-notch editing specialists, guaranteed!

Moderator: Forum Guards

Multiskin Nonsense

Postby Snakey » Fri Jun 26, 09 12:52 am

Ran into even more bother involving Multiskins earlier when I was testing out a new texture for the sawed-off shotgun.

Normally there should be two textures for each weapon, one for the pickup view and the other for the player view, with a Multiskin slot attributed to each view texture. This usually works out alright, but with the sawed-off it seems the two view textures are occupying the same slot, despite half the other entries being vacant. Basically, it means that I can either have my gun look like this in pickup view:

Image

And this in the player's view:

Image


Or the alternative, which is use the item's playerview texture and have the gun look like this:

Image

Image

It doesn't seem possible to seperate the two accordingly. Anyone know where I'm going wrong?
Last edited by Snakey on Fri Jun 26, 09 12:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
<center>

Image
User avatar
Snakey
Alpha
 
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 05 7:09 pm
Location: Wales

Postby clyzm » Fri Jun 26, 09 12:55 am

It's probably a skin assignment malfunction of the mesh itself - if I were you, I'd export the original weapon, reimport it and skin it with the appropriate import code for the skin assignments. (found in AllWeapons.uc)

If you do decide to do this, PM me if you need help.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby Allan » Fri Jun 26, 09 1:07 am

You want some code fiddling with. Namely RenderCanvas(**)
User avatar
Allan
Alpha
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 05 1:41 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, England.

Postby Snakey » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:04 am

Allan wrote:You want some code fiddling with. Namely RenderCanvas(**)


And that'd be in WeaponSawedOffShotgun?

It's probably a skin assignment malfunction of the mesh itself - if I were you, I'd export the original weapon, reimport it and skin it with the appropriate import code for the skin assignments. (found in AllWeapons.uc)

If you do decide to do this, PM me if you need help.


Might give that a go, how long would it take? Also, I'm not certain but I think I've got the same problem with the Combat Knife and Plasma Rifle.
<center>

Image
User avatar
Snakey
Alpha
 
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 05 7:09 pm
Location: Wales

Postby Snakey » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:30 am

Confirmed, same problem with the Combat Knife and Plasma Rifle, probably others too.

Come to think of it, the pistol is the only weapon I've been able to successfully re-texture, along with the DTS.
<center>

Image
User avatar
Snakey
Alpha
 
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 05 7:09 pm
Location: Wales

Postby Cozmo » Fri Jun 26, 09 9:24 pm

Or, if you're very lazy, like me, you can make it change the multiskins when it's picked up / frobbed, and throwing the weapon changes them back. :D
Code: Select all
function DropFrom(vector StartLocation)
{
}


Then again, if it's for MP I'm not sure how that will show up to other players.
Cozmo
Master
 
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 05 10:53 am
Location: UK

Postby clyzm » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:00 pm


Might give that a go, how long would it take? Also, I'm not certain but I think I've got the same problem with the Combat Knife and Plasma Rifle.


Well, you're going through the import process for the gun all over again, but it's basically copypasta and modifying some lines of code. It may take a while.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby Snakey » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:05 pm

portable mp3 player wrote:

Might give that a go, how long would it take? Also, I'm not certain but I think I've got the same problem with the Combat Knife and Plasma Rifle.


Well, you're going through the import process for the gun all over again, but it's basically copypasta and modifying some lines of code. It may take a while.


Fair enough. Problem now is I might have to do it with 3 different weapons, won't that bump up the download size considerably?
<center>

Image
User avatar
Snakey
Alpha
 
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 05 7:09 pm
Location: Wales

Postby clyzm » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:08 pm

Snakey wrote:
portable mp3 player wrote:

Might give that a go, how long would it take? Also, I'm not certain but I think I've got the same problem with the Combat Knife and Plasma Rifle.


Well, you're going through the import process for the gun all over again, but it's basically copypasta and modifying some lines of code. It may take a while.


Fair enough. Problem now is I might have to do it with 3 different weapons, won't that bump up the download size considerably?


It will bump up the download size, just don't know by how much. Deus Ex has ridiculously optimized models.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby Snakey » Fri Jun 26, 09 11:32 pm

Seems reasonable. I'll give it a go if these other two chap's suggestions don't work.
<center>

Image
User avatar
Snakey
Alpha
 
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 05 7:09 pm
Location: Wales

Postby MainMan » Sat Jun 27, 09 3:36 am

Allan wrote:RenderCanvas(**)

This is the only way to "solve" it properly, without a hacky method.
<center>ty m7
</center>
User avatar
MainMan
<i>Tru' Playa' Fer Defs</i>
 
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 05 7:38 am
Location: London, UK


Return to Editing issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests