Keeping textures when copying brushes in UnrealEd

The best and quickest support by a group of top-notch editing specialists, guaranteed!

Moderator: Forum Guards

Keeping textures when copying brushes in UnrealEd

Postby Dae » Sun Jan 28, 07 10:39 pm

It's a very old and a very simple trick, however I don't remember that I posted it anywhere here. It was very handy in my early mapping days, when I was building maps mostly by copying different things from other maps (I opened two UnrealEd instances, one for my map, one - for the maps to copy from) or using prefabs (see Deus Ex Constructor for the best collection of prefabs). The problem was, when I was copying or adding a brush from a different place, UnrealEd used to reset the textures of the brush, if they had not been preloaded before, so I had to assign textures again on a newly added brush.
The solution is simple:
  • Go to DeusEx/System, open DeusEx.ini (for UEd2, go to DeusEx/UEd2 and open UnrealTournament.ini)
  • Find
    Code: Select all
    [Editor.EditorEngine]
  • Add somewhere under it:
    Code: Select all
    EditPackages=Airfield
    EditPackages=area51textures
    EditPackages=BatteryPark
    EditPackages=BobPage
    EditPackages=Catacombs
    EditPackages=Cmd_tunnels
    EditPackages=Constructor
    EditPackages=CoreTexBrick
    EditPackages=CoreTexCeramic
    EditPackages=CoreTexConcrete
    EditPackages=CoreTexDetail
    EditPackages=CoreTexEarth
    EditPackages=CoreTexFoliage
    EditPackages=CoreTexGlass
    EditPackages=CoreTexMetal
    EditPackages=CoreTexMisc
    EditPackages=CoreTexPaper
    EditPackages=CoreTexSky
    EditPackages=CoreTexStone
    EditPackages=CoreTexStucco
    EditPackages=CoreTexTextile
    EditPackages=CoreTexTiles
    EditPackages=CoreTexWallObj
    EditPackages=CoreTexWater
    EditPackages=CoreTexWood
    EditPackages=Dockyard
    EditPackages=Effects
    EditPackages=Extras
    EditPackages=FreeClinic
    EditPackages=G_Station
    EditPackages=Hangar18
    EditPackages=HK_BuildingExt
    EditPackages=HK_Decorations
    EditPackages=HK_Helibase
    EditPackages=HK_Interior
    EditPackages=HK_MJ12Lab
    EditPackages=HK_Signs
    EditPackages=HK_VersaLife
    EditPackages=InfoPortraits
    EditPackages=MJ12_lab
    EditPackages=Mobile_Camp
    EditPackages=MolePeople
    EditPackages=Moon
    EditPackages=NewYorkCity
    EditPackages=NYCBar
    EditPackages=OceanLab
    EditPackages=Palettes
    EditPackages=Paris
    EditPackages=Render
    EditPackages=Rocket
    EditPackages=SubBase
    EditPackages=subway
    EditPackages=Supertanker
    EditPackages=UNATCO
    EditPackages=V_Com_Center
  • Save and close the file.
Notes:
  • This will increase the loading time of your UnrealEd, however it saves time and makes selecting textures easy (you don't have to load the packages anymore).
  • Ded (the author of Project: 2027) also said that preloading reduced lag in his mod.
  • If you're using UnrealEd2 and your map contains non-standard textures or other stuff, I guess you'd agree that it's a bit annoying to preload all of them, by picking one by one from different folders each time before opening the map. Just add these custom packages to EditPackages= of UnrealTournament.ini and forget about preloading.
User avatar
Dae
Alpha
 
Posts: 12086
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 03 4:40 pm

Postby MainMan » Sun Jan 28, 07 10:54 pm

This is useful, but I think my computer would struggle with 2 UEds running. :shock:

Does anyone want to know about brush hacking? It is related to this.
<center>ty m7
</center>
User avatar
MainMan
<i>Tru' Playa' Fer Defs</i>
 
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 05 7:38 am
Location: London, UK

Postby Dae » Sun Jan 28, 07 11:05 pm

I did brush hacking to a mover once to change the class. That wasn't hard - copy the brush, paste to some text editor, edit class, copy again, paste back to UnrealEd. Talking about values/vertexes, dunno.
User avatar
Dae
Alpha
 
Posts: 12086
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 03 4:40 pm

Postby MainMan » Sun Jan 28, 07 11:24 pm

Я не сомневался что ты знаешь - я хотел другим помочь :)

So yes, that is what brush hacking is.

After having copied the brush from the editor, paste into a text-program (e.g. notepad) and you can edit things like the class (if a mover), or the location (you can get rid of the annoying +32 units offset when you copy a brush), etc. Then copy the text in the editor, and paste back into UEd.
<center>ty m7
</center>
User avatar
MainMan
<i>Tru' Playa' Fer Defs</i>
 
Posts: 4655
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 05 7:38 am
Location: London, UK

Postby ~ô¿ô~Nobody~ » Tue Jan 30, 07 12:51 am

That's how I place new Ring-Transporters very fast.
I copy an existing one, change the tags, like Hangar_TC, to Prison_TC, with the replace all function and paste it again. Almost no work after that anymore. :)

Btw, dae, you can also do it with just one editor instance. Then you also don't need to load all the mods.
You just open the map where you want to copy out something. Then you select the stuff you want to copy out and copy it to the clipboard.
Then you right load the map, where you want to paste it in, followed by pasting the stuff from clipboard.
Rebuilding, saving, done.
This works because the editor doesn't unload the required textures of the prior map.
Nobody is perfect...
------------------------------
Longc[A]t wrote:I still think Dae is a russian spambot.

~[A]Daedalus~ wrote:There will be a day when my patience goes away and you, along with all who rant with you, will get banned.

ô¿ô¥[GODZ]¥NOCHANC wrote:I can ban any one I want ANY time I want. You have no rights here.
User avatar
~ô¿ô~Nobody~
Alpha
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 04 3:20 pm
Location: Proclarush Taonas

Postby Dae » Tue Jan 30, 07 1:15 pm

You just open the map where you want to copy out something. Then you select the stuff you want to copy out and copy it to the clipboard.

Of course, but when you copy a lot of things and from time to time it takes more time in sum.
User avatar
Dae
Alpha
 
Posts: 12086
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 03 4:40 pm

Postby ~ô¿ô~Nobody~ » Wed Jan 31, 07 3:24 pm

Meh, actually the point of my post was, how not to loose the surface properties (i.e. texture) of some copied brush, without loading all possible packages. :?
Nobody is perfect...
------------------------------
Longc[A]t wrote:I still think Dae is a russian spambot.

~[A]Daedalus~ wrote:There will be a day when my patience goes away and you, along with all who rant with you, will get banned.

ô¿ô¥[GODZ]¥NOCHANC wrote:I can ban any one I want ANY time I want. You have no rights here.
User avatar
~ô¿ô~Nobody~
Alpha
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 04 3:20 pm
Location: Proclarush Taonas


Return to Editing issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests