Page 1 of 1

[MUTATOR] Switcher — allows admins to switch other players

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 06 8:27 am
by Dae
I know i'm kinda inaccurate by posting not in a "official release topic", but soon when we get a website running we'll structure and tidy away all the information about releases.

This mutator is called MM Switcher. It adds a admin console command that switches a specific player to another team. While switching it doesn't kill player, it doesn't erase his score, keeps inventory, but changes the skin and respawns on the suitable spawn point. The command, of course, is accessible only for admins.
By the way, mutator is fully serverside so players will not have download it.

The idea of this mutator came to me when i saw how easily admin on Counter Strike: Source server was switching players to balance teams.

Installation is simple as usually:
1. Place contents of .zip to DeusEx/System
2. Open DeusEx.ini file
3. Find the block called [DeusEx.DeusExGameEngine] and place the following line somewhere in that block
Code: Select all
ServerActors=MMSwitcher100.SwitchMutator


How to use the mutator. You have to log in as administrator. Then you may type "playerlist" command to get an ID number of a player you need to switch. ID's also can be seen after names of players when they talk on DXMTL servers, for example:
Image
Klop's ID is 1.

After you got the ID, type the following command
Code: Select all
mutate switch ID

so if we wanted to switch klop, we would type:
Code: Select all
mutate switch 1


If it succeeds it will inform the player, that he got switched and you, that you switched the player.

The mutator was protected by Nobody's mod protection tool.

In the end, I would like to say thanks to my friends Nobody and Alex for good unreal scripting support :)

I'm glad to hear any comments/suggestions :)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 06 2:56 pm
by Gishank
Great mutator dae, it's a good idea, i dunno why no one has attempted this before.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 6:24 pm
by KillerZ
{M}ATLANTIS(1): Hey there





mutate switch 1



I still stay oon my team, even after I logged on as admin

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 6:28 pm
by Dae
And you're this {M}Atlantis?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 7:40 pm
by KillerZ
Yes, KillerZ was my old ID, if you look arounf on another DX forum, you will find me, and that im working on more DXSG maps with help from NOBODY of course

EDIT: IM in this pic :P
http://www.dxalpha.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8101
back while i was in RIA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 8:02 pm
by Dae
I hope you realise that you may use mutate switch ID command only when you're logged in?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 8:36 pm
by Kaiden
Hmm, That mod is on DXAG of [A]Nobodys server (Not DXSG though) And it works fine then. Type mutate switch *ID* And it changes them at gives them a message saying you were switched. You can switch yourself as well.. Maybe you haven't set the mod up right??

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 06 10:59 pm
by KillerZ
KillerZ wrote:{M}ATLANTIS(1): Hey there





mutate switch 1



I still stay oon my team, even after I logged on as admin


If you read my post you know that I AM logged in when I do this, and Yes, I followed the instructions, Under ServerActors too, I havent tried ServerPackages though... But it does not say to

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 8:41 am
by Dae
Type mutate switcher.version and see if it shows anything.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:02 am
by KillerZ
Nothing, but it does not give "Unrecognized Command"

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:06 am
by Dae
It means it's not installed. Please, post the section under
Code: Select all
[DeusEx.DeusExGameEngine]

from your DeusEx.ini

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:10 am
by KillerZ
It IS
I simply stated that "Unrecongized Command" Doe NOT come up, saying that the Command it recognized, but its not working.
Code: Select all
[DeusEx.DeusExGameEngine]
CacheSizeMegs=4
UseSound=True
ServerActors=IpDrv.UdpBeacon
ServerActors=Nephthys.NptServerQuery
ServerActors=Nephthys.NptServerUplink MasterServerAddress=master0.gamespy.com MasterServerPort=27900
ServerActors=Nephthys.NptServerUplink MasterServerAddress=master.epicgames.com MasterServerPort=27900
ServerActors=Nephthys.NptServerUplink MasterServerAddress=master.fragaholic.com MasterServerPort=27900
ServerActors=MMImTyping.MMIAmTyping
ServerActors=SG_a51_v3_fix1.MapFix
ServerActors=SuperRocket_Lite.SRItemReplacer
ServerActors=SpawnExt.SpawnerSGMapAddInv
ServerActors=MMSwitcher100.SwitchMutator
ServerPackages=MMImTyping
ServerPackages=SuperRocket_Lite
ServerPackages=DXMTL152b1
serverpackages=AllanTeleporter
serverpackages=admin

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:20 am
by Dae
KillerZ wrote:It IS
I simply stated that "Unrecongized Command" Doe NOT come up, saying that the Command it recognized, but its not working.

The command is recognised because Deus Ex knows "mutate" command. It doesn't care about parameters. After typing this command you should have got a message with the version of the mod.

Could you please attach server.log.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:23 am
by KillerZ
BOLDITALICS

server.log deleted by Dae

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:53 am
by Dae
Ah, well, just realized! It isn't compatible with SG mod, sorry :(

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:56 am
by KillerZ
Hmm.. I tried it on a NORMAL server even STILL DOES NOT WORK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 9:57 am
by Dae
KillerZ wrote:Hmm.. I tried it on a NORMAL server even STILL DOES NOT WORK

What was the gametype?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 10:05 am
by KillerZ
MTL's I forget wich one.. H/O

Its one from DXMTL

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 06 10:43 am
by Dae
Try again hosting with MTL gametype and post the server.log.
Please attach it as a file, instead of pasting it here.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 06 5:56 pm
by Kaiden
I always wondered why the Mod was only on AG not SG ^_^.

Hope you fix your problem!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 06 8:29 pm
by ~ô¿ô~Nobody~
That was possibly my personal failure..
However, Dae could have installed the mutator on SG too, since he had access to my server over FTP at the end as well. :lol:

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 06 11:43 am
by Dae
Read the post above - it's not compatible with SG. In other words, it doesn't work with it.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 06 7:17 pm
by Fatman
§ KÃÎÐEN § wrote:I always wondered why the Mod was only on AG not SG ^_^.

Hope you fix your problem!

I thought u switch me one time in SG, i remember standing next to a team mate, then him shooting me dead.......What a day

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 06 7:31 pm
by Alex
Fatman wrote:
§ KÃÎÐEN § wrote:I always wondered why the Mod was only on AG not SG ^_^.

Hope you fix your problem!

I thought u switch me one time in SG, i remember standing next to a team mate, then him shooting me dead.......What a day

That is a special telnet mod. Available on all gamemode's.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 06 7:45 pm
by Kaiden
Yeah, thats different from the Mutate Switch (This Topic) Sorry if I choose you to be changed, but these teams would of been unfair if I did change you! :D

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 06 2:38 pm
by ~ô¿ô~Nobody~
~[A]Daedalus~ wrote:Read the post above - it's not compatible with SG. In other words, it doesn't work with it.


Since it's a mutator, I see no reason why it shouldn't be compatible, if it's coded properly. :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 06 3:02 pm
by Dae
~[A]Nobody~ wrote:
~[A]Daedalus~ wrote:Read the post above - it's not compatible with SG. In other words, it doesn't work with it.


Since it's a mutator, I see no reason why it shouldn't be compatible, if it's coded properly. :)

I don't know either. MMAntiTK works very glitchy on SG as well.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 07 2:54 am
by KillerZ
If it switched based on Player
DXMTL152b.MTLNSF
would be SG_MOD152.SGNSF

for SG mod