ms2de export problem

The best and quickest support by a group of top-notch editing specialists, guaranteed!

Moderator: Forum Guards

ms2de export problem

Postby LastEr » Sat Jul 25, 09 11:26 am

Is there any way to import model from ms3d to dx without deformations?
Tried everything, and it is still deformed :?
I've made a lot of deco meshes and all are like this.
Example:
Image
Image

Tried scaling it up and down, setting meshmap scaling to 1, setting lodbias to high values, adding zerotex=1 to import line, everything :? Anyone please help


[btw, is zerotex value to disable lodbias, right? :roll: ]
Last edited by LastEr on Sat Jul 25, 09 11:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby ~DJ~ » Sat Jul 25, 09 12:59 pm

Hmmm, I don't see any transformations in my meshes/models..


You sure you haven't done any bad option or what?


Have you tried importing a normal cylinder?

Import a normal cylinder, and then see if it goes like that, and post back again.
User avatar
~DJ~
Forum Super Hero
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Tue May 22, 07 12:23 pm

Postby clyzm » Sat Jul 25, 09 4:34 pm

If you have any animations, try disabling them (erasing them completely from the import codes.) Try removing zerotex = 1, try setting LODBias to negative values (this makes it sharper) and try adding this line into your mesh imports:

Code: Select all
#exec MESH LODPARAMS MESH=<name> STRENGTH=0


If none of these work, its probably due to MS2DE itself.
Last edited by clyzm on Sat Jul 25, 09 4:37 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Sun Jul 26, 09 6:32 pm

Nothing helps, negative lodbias is even worse

Tried everything youve said, will try importing cylinder :?

What about 3ds2de, can i use it with .max .3ds exported from 3dsmax 5?
Last edited by LastEr on Sun Jul 26, 09 6:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Sun Jul 26, 09 6:38 pm

LastEr wrote:Nothing helps, negative lodbias is even worse

Tried everything youve said, will try importing cylinder :?

What about 3ds2de, can i use it with .max .3ds exported from 3dsmax 5?


Yeh, it's possible.

It's weird though, when I import decos with ms2de it doesn't do deformations... Even a drum set that I imported, that was 1500+ polys. It only deforms when animated...
Last edited by clyzm on Sun Jul 26, 09 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Sun Jul 26, 09 6:54 pm

maybe i have wrong[old?] version of msDeusExExport.dll ?

My milkshape is 1.7.8[the newest is 1.8.5 :roll: ]

And about dll:
Image
[btw, look at the red marked text, is it possible? o.0]

My meshes are all deformed, but some are just a lil, and other are completely f*cked.

Once ive imported a mesh with ~4000 polys and was almost perfect
Last edited by LastEr on Sun Jul 26, 09 7:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Sun Jul 26, 09 7:36 pm

I have 1.8.1. Would it help if I could send you my copy of the .dll ?
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Sun Jul 26, 09 8:05 pm

Ill be thankful :)
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Sun Jul 26, 09 8:37 pm

Here it is.
Attachments
ms2de.zip
(35.28 KiB) Downloaded 243 times
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Sun Jul 26, 09 9:15 pm

Thanks very much. Your version is 12 seconds newer :o Will test soon.

And what milkshape version do you use?
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby Dae » Sun Jul 26, 09 9:19 pm

portable mp3 player wrote:I have 1.8.1.
User avatar
Dae
Alpha
 
Posts: 12086
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 03 4:40 pm

Postby LastEr » Sun Jul 26, 09 9:28 pm

Erm... ok

I've tested and still the same. Could you test converting it with your ms3d?

I've attached three of my models that are deformed. Look at the bolts and car lights after converting
Attachments
modelz.rar
(69.8 KiB) Downloaded 221 times
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby Allan » Sun Jul 26, 09 11:46 pm

portable mp3 player wrote:It's weird though, when I import decos with ms2de it doesn't do deformations... Even a drum set that I imported, that was 1500+ polys. It only deforms when animated...


It's this very problem I've been grappling with for years. D:
User avatar
Allan
Alpha
 
Posts: 4545
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 05 1:41 pm
Location: Northamptonshire, England.

Postby clyzm » Mon Jul 27, 09 5:32 pm

Can't specifically help you (my copy of DX doesn't work) but from what I've gathered in Milkshape, these meshes are too large. Try scaling them down to smaller size, then export and see if it helps. If it appears small in-game, make it bigger via Drawscale or meshmap size function.

Sorry, afraid I can't do much. :( Unless you wanted me to just convert it?

EDIT: Here. I made the models smaller and reversed the vertex order. Hope it helps your situation. (I did not edit the .uc btw)
Attachments
models.zip
(58.24 KiB) Downloaded 227 times
Last edited by clyzm on Mon Jul 27, 09 5:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Mon Jul 27, 09 10:22 pm

Damn, still the same, thx anyway
Image

btw what is the difference between v1.112f and v1.112fm? I'm not sure which i've installed

I think it's time to meet 3ds2de
Last edited by LastEr on Mon Jul 27, 09 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Mon Jul 27, 09 10:31 pm

If you want, I could convert those models with 3ds2de for you, save you some trouble :)
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby Dae » Mon Jul 27, 09 10:40 pm

LastEr wrote:btw what is the difference between v1.112f and v1.112fm? I'm not sure which i've installed

'm' stands for multiplayer
User avatar
Dae
Alpha
 
Posts: 12086
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 03 4:40 pm

Postby LastEr » Mon Jul 27, 09 10:46 pm

Will be fine to see difference, i will trust 3ds2de if i see any of these three models in briliant quality

Is there any step-by-step tutorial for 3ds2de? [not the Tack's one :s]
Once i tried to use it but ive got strange errors and resigned [i cant do anything in 3ds, it's too hard for me]
Is it possible to import models with multiple multiskins with it? Almost every my mesh has at least two, because of small 256x256 limit :\


Dae wrote:'m' stands for multiplayer

erm, so there's no difference for me if i got goty version?
Last edited by LastEr on Mon Jul 27, 09 10:52 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Mon Jul 27, 09 11:07 pm

Is there any step-by-step tutorial for 3ds2de? [not the Tack's one :s]


http://www.dxediting.com/tutorials.php?tutorial=35
http://www.dxediting.com/tutorials.php?tutorial=37

Is it possible to import models with multiple multiskins with it? Almost every my mesh has at least two, because of small 256x256 limit :\


Yes, its possible. You can have up to 10 (which will read as 0-9 in code) Btw, 256 x 256 isn't the limit. There can be meshes with much larger textures provided they follow powers of two (the new OpenGL famously rendered a 1024 x 1024 image and higher)

I'll work on importing those models for you.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Tue Jul 28, 09 12:48 pm

I know about the new opengl renderer, once i've tested it, bigger screen resolution was working, but textures higher than 256x256 was still scaled down :/ I'm planning to test it after format, but backup of my data is taking days, so i can't mobilize :roll:

Ok, i'm trying the 3ds2de, we'll see

I like working on cinema4d or milkshape, can i just export model from one of these and import without opening 3ds?

Once i tried to do something with multiple textures in 3ds, understood nothing and closed this shit :?

(DO NOT change the scale, if the model is too big or too small use "drawscale=" in the Default properties section)

I wonder why...


EDIT:
OMG just successfully imported this:
Image

I'm shocked because smoothing is working even on texture seams, not like in milkshape converted models :o

ImageImage

big thx maet, now i must learn how to import model with more than one tex, aand find out how to do sharp edge, because 3ds2de ignores milkshape's smoothing groups :roll:
Last edited by LastEr on Tue Jul 28, 09 1:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Tue Jul 28, 09 4:44 pm

I like working on cinema4d or milkshape, can i just export model from one of these and import without opening 3ds?


Well yeah, as long as it doesn't have animations.
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby ~DJ~ » Tue Jul 28, 09 5:48 pm

Why I have a feeling that your making a cool map :$
User avatar
~DJ~
Forum Super Hero
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Tue May 22, 07 12:23 pm

Postby LastEr » Tue Jul 28, 09 8:05 pm

...I really don't like animating :roll:
Only animating the switches and other small things, that can be made in ms3d.

One day i will learn 3ds, but not now

~DJ~ wrote:cool map :$

something bigger than map :wink:
Last edited by LastEr on Tue Jul 28, 09 8:26 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby ~DJ~ » Tue Jul 28, 09 10:05 pm

A whole new conversion?


Gametype? :O
User avatar
~DJ~
Forum Super Hero
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Tue May 22, 07 12:23 pm

Postby LastEr » Tue Jul 28, 09 11:08 pm

...zomg
just another sp mod :roll:
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby ~DJ~ » Tue Jul 28, 09 11:15 pm

I guessed right!


gimme moneh now!



Anyways, good luck! :)
User avatar
~DJ~
Forum Super Hero
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Tue May 22, 07 12:23 pm

Postby LastEr » Tue Jul 28, 09 11:24 pm

it already took 3 years :lol:
yah, i need luck
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby LastEr » Sun Nov 08, 09 6:50 pm

Alright, ive done some models and imported successfully with 3ds2de, BUT
today i decided to make a little more.

I've made the new tap in c4d
Image
Then splitted to 2 groups and exported to 3ds.
Then I've imported it to the 3dsmax5 and animated.
Image
I've two files - one for each animation[opening and closing]

I knew that it will fail, but i tried to convert it with 3ds2de.
I saw that:
Image

Tried scaling it down, and bad coordinate lines disappeared:
Image

But it still skips the animated group and imports only unanimated part:
Image

I don't know what to do because i don't work in 3ds and im totally noobish in it. It took me few hours to find out how to do that simple animation.

ANYONE PLEASE HEEEELP :?

I've attached the files, but tbh i don't want someone to do it instead of me, but explain me how to fix it myself, because i will have the same problem with every model
Attachments
kran.zip
model files
(77.19 KiB) Downloaded 203 times
Last edited by LastEr on Sun Nov 08, 09 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland

Postby clyzm » Sun Nov 08, 09 10:14 pm

Have you made your animation frames into duplicates of the model via snapshot method?
Image
User avatar
clyzm
Forum Master God
 
Posts: 16023
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 04 2:48 am
Location: Chiraq

Postby LastEr » Sat Dec 19, 09 1:39 am

erm?
I've imported model, made opening animation, saved, reset, imported model, made closing animation and saved second file
What is snapshot method? :P

update xd:

i spent few days at meeting with 3dsmax and teh faucet is ready, anims are working, zero deformations :P

And btw, i found out how to import model with multiple texs
Last edited by LastEr on Sat Dec 19, 09 1:39 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
LastEr
Mapping Contest Winner
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 08 9:47 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland


Return to Editing issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests